Our Books Are Not Free

ourbooksbanner2

Guest post by Rose Montague, writer of Urban Fantasy/Young Adult books with a lot of humour and just a touch of romance.
Rose has worked both in a library as well as several bookstores. She lives in Elon, NC.

 

by Rose Montague:

It started with a bit of a rant with my post on Facebook:

“Free, Free, Free…

I see it in my emails, on twitter, on my Facebook newsfeed, 20 free books, 400 books at 99 cents, sign up and get free books, enter to win 47 free books, 36 authors giving away eBooks at this event. I’m not participating, sorry.

How about a fun read at a reasonable price? That sounds like a good plan to me.”

Thirty minutes later, I added this in a second post:

“I’m thinking about doing an event called OUR BOOKS ARE NOT FREE.

No giveaways, no prizes, no incentives other than meeting authors and readers, learning about their books, and supporting authors that want to sell their books. I wonder if anyone would like to participate and I wonder if people would actually attend the event?

If you are interested, please comment below. If I get enough authors/readers I will host the event……”

It sounds like a simple concept. Selling books without giving away your livelihood. Actually asking people to buy something. Having enough confidence in your writing to believe that people would buy your books without you having to giveaway more than you would make from selling a book.

I was absolutely floored by the response I got to the idea of this event. Within a day I had over 150 comments with both authors and readers that said they would participate. I was shocked to see how many authors not only agreed with the concept, they also felt like the plethora of free books out there is hurting the Indie Author Community as a whole. The readers indicated they wanted to support authors by buying books at a reasonable price. They didn’t need incentives to do so. Our books were good enough, on their own, for them to spend a few dollars on a book.

The next day I created the event, stretching it out over five days, the last four days going from 6:00am to 11:00pm in thirty minute slots just to accommodate all the authors that wanted a slot. Those slots filled up in less than two days and I now have a waiting list of authors wanting a spot. As of the time I wrote this post there are 560 people coming to the event with three weeks to go yet.

I hope you would consider coming as well. Show your support of the Indie Author Community buy buying a few books at a reasonable price and meet new authors and readers that share your enthusiasm for books.

Go here to join the event…..

https://www.facebook.com/events/206705409792190/

 
authorlovepromo

8 thoughts on “Our Books Are Not Free

  1. Unless I choose to put a copy of one of my books in someone’s hot sticky hand and say’this is a gift’ none of my books are free. A lot of work and effort went into writing them and there are costs of production to be paid for. Sadly I’m not quite as prosperous as a Rothschild or Carnegie, co cannot afford to be the philanthropist who gives away everything gratis.
    I think every book should be paid for.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Join us for a great event – All about romance

Leave a Reply

