Wicked Rivals by Lauren Smith

wickedrivals_tourbadge

A cunning Scottish lady bests an English baron of legendary control in a game of business and seduction…

Lauren Smith is back with the latest in her sexy historical romance series, League of Rogues, with WICKED RIVALS!

wickedrivalsA LORD WITH LEGENDARY CONTROL…

Merciless and powerful, Ashton Lennox is a wealthy man because he puts business before everything else, especially love. As a member of the infamous League of Rogues, he’s no stranger to scandal. His bedroom conquests are as legendary as his fortune. As he searches for a way to bring down an old enemy bent on destroying the lives of his friends, the last thing he needs is a Scottish widow getting in his way.

A FIERY WOMAN WHO WON’T BACK DOWN…

The daughter of a Scottish lord with a dark and treacherous past, Rosalind Melbourne has spent years distancing from her past. After escaping her tyrannical father and marrying an aging English lord, she has become a powerful widow with a business empire at her command. Her business dealings are everything to her, leaving her no time for love. Especially not with her business rival Ashton, a man with a scandalous reputation as striking as his blue eyes.

A GAME OF WITS TURNS TO A GAME OF SEDUCTION…

Ashton is fascinated by the strong-willed, intelligent and sensual lady who, up until now, had outsmarted him at every turn. Rosalind wishes she could deny she is falling for the brooding, handsome baron. How can she possibly trust him when doing so could cost her what she values most—her freedom? When Ashton discovers Rosalind might hold the key to saving the League of Rogues, he knows he will do anything to woo his wicked lass. As their pasts return to haunt them and dark forces rise to keep them from exposing a deadly spymaster, their game of love turns to a game of survival…

Warning: This book includes a brooding baron who’s wild in bed, a crafty Scottish lass who never knows when to quit, a wicked game of strip chess, and a merry band of rogues whose first instinct is to run they hear wedding bells ring.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo

Add Wicked Rivals to your Goodreads TBR pile!

 
The Author:

lauren_smith_2014Amazon Best-Selling Author Lauren Smith is an attorney by day, author by night, who pens adventurous and edgy romance stories by the light of her smart phone flashlight app. She’s a native Oklahoman who lives with her three pets: a feisty chinchilla, sophisticated cat and dapper little schnauzer. She’s won multiple awards in several romance subgenres including being an Amazon.com Breakthrough Novel Award Quarter-Finalist and a Semi-Finalist for the Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley Award.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter
Goodreads | Amazon

 

 
Interview with Lauren Smith:

How did you choose the genre you write in?

Well that’s a funny story, for the longest time, I didn’t know I was a romance writer in my heart. I grew up reading sci-fiction, fantasy and literary fiction, not romance. But when I was in law school and really started pursuing a career in writing, one of my good writer friends pointed out that I kept writing love stories within my story. She said I should read some romance and then see if I want to write it. I did…I read a Christina Dodd novel and was hooked! So then I started writing romance novels and the rest is history!

 
How did your journey as a writer begin?

 I began writing when I was in the third grade, I was determined to fix the ending of the Titanic movie because I didn’t want Leonardo’s character, Jack, to die. So started re-writing the entire story and I realized I had a love of storytelling and wanted to tell my own stories!

 
When you consider your future, what would you like to make happen for you?

 I would really love to write full time and survive on my books so that I can retire from my other job as an attorney. I want to be able to travel the world and write in exotic lands and get inspired with wonderful stories!

 
Which, if any, of your personality traits did you write into your characters?

 I write a lot of my own personality traits into my characters. People by nature are supremely complex and we all have a lot of different traits. So naturally for different characters I draw on different parts of myself in order to give the characters that complexity which makes them relatable.

 
How important are names to you in your books? Do you choose the names based on liking the way it sounds or the meaning?

 Names are fairly important. I don’t always focus on the meaning, but I like to look through lists of names and then as I see the names, something usually jumps out at me and I picture the character with that name and it either works or it doesn’t. I love finding unique names for my characters.

 
What advice would you give to your younger self?

 I would probably tell my younger self to make sure to stop and have fun along the way while in school. Until I started pursuing writing as a career I worked really hard in school and didn’t focus on having fun or enjoying life. I pushed myself very hard so if I could give advice to my younger self it would be to relax and have fun along the way.

 
If you could go out to lunch with any literary character, which would it be?

 Harry Potter. He defined fifteen years of my childhood as I read him growing up. I was part of the Harry Potter generation and meeting Harry Potter would be incredible.

 
What would constitute a “perfect” day for you?

Sleeping in to start. I usually get up at 5am. Then walking my dogs in the neighborhood with the perfect weather and then spending some time by the pool and catching up on reading. Then finishing the evening with dinner and a movie with friends.

 
laurenbumperblack

Leave a Reply

