No Internet

Friday 19th.

I switched my computer on and discovered I had no internet connection. As my land line was also dead, I contacted my phone/broadband/TV provider, TalkTalk.

I switched my computer on and discovered I had no internet connection. As my land line was also dead, I contacted my phone/broadband/TV provider, TalkTalk.

After following the recorded instructions and pressing a variety of numbers, another recording told me there was a fault on the line and it would be looked into. I hadn’t spoken to a single human.

A short time later I got a couple of text messages. The first saying they were performing tests and the second confirming there was an issue on my line and it was with the engineers.

Saturday 20th.

By late afternoon, frustrated at still having no phone line or internet, I wanted to know what was going on, so I rang TalkTalk again for a second round of recorded messages and ‘button’ pressing. Eventually I got through to an actual person, however it took some effort and great concentration to explain what I wanted to know and to understand what I was told – English not being his first language.

By the end of the call I had gathered that it was a broken cable, that BT knew about the fault, but that they didn’t work weekends, that I would receive an update on Tuesday and that I would be back online by the 24th/25th.

Tuesday 23rd.

The  guy from TalkTalk rang in the afternoon to tell me that BT had found the fault and discovered a lot of other problems that needed fixing, and that I would get a further update in March 1st. They would also reroute my landline calls to my mobile – yay!

March!! I was already having serious internet withdrawals and  I had blogs to post!and I was dreading having to go to the supermarket to do my shopping – I do all that online!

I was dreading having to go to the supermarket to do my shopping – I do all that online!

One thing the guy from TalkTalk said made me want to laugh though.

What I thought/hoped he meant to say:

“BT have found a lot of other faults, apart from yours and will be fixing them all.”

What he actually said:

“BT have found a lot of other faults and will be fixing them all, apart from yours.”

😦

Friday 26th.

I haven’t had an update from TalkTalk, but my internet is working.

My phone is still dead though!? Do I care? No – I’m back online. 😀

~*~

Apology emails are now being sent out to those of you who were expecting to see your books here over the past few days.

Normal service will now be resumed – hopefully!

On the plus side, I got some reading in, some painting done and my craft storage got a really good spring clean!  🙂

Leave a Reply

