Exigency by Marnie Cate

preorder

Author: Marnie Cate
Title:  Exigency
Series: The Protectors of the Elemental Magic Series
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy/Romance

Synopsis:

There is a world around us that most people don’t take the time to see. 

EXIGENCY COMPLETE Mara Stone’s world was shaken, but she is a fighter. Facing new adversaries, Mara is learning what it truly means to protect the magic. As she starts to rebuild her life, the web of her family’s secrets continues to unravel. Mara is forced to face her fear of losing everything she holds dear.

She said that you would be a challenge to my children. I thought I had made the right choice when I selected Eliza. If only Mae had not interfered. But, enough of those sad thoughts, I think the two of you will be perfect replacements.

When Mara and Cole find themselves in the cold world of Snowstrum, they will have to choose either to be true to their promise to protect the magic, or to follow their desires. Magic may not be enough to free them from the icy fortress they are trapped in.

The second book in the Protectors of the Elemental Magic series, Exigency is a compelling, magical young adult fantasy tale.

Amazon

Excerpt

The cold water shocked me and I found it hard to catch my breath. Unable to see what had attacked me, I began to scramble to the shore with thoughts of running back to the forest to hide. I wasn’t fast enough. A hand roughly caught my wrist. My instinct to run away instantly changed to self-preservation. My heart began to beat so hard I thought it would fly out of my chest and my mind kept telling me to survive. Fight! Fight! As I turned to confront the danger, I found myself face-to-face with Cole.

“Mar, calm down. It’s me. Stop running. Who were you shouting at? There is no one here,” he said. Pulling me into his arms, he held me tightly.

“He will try to kill them with or without you and he will fail,” the voice whispered in my ear.

Jerking away from Cole, I returned to the position he had first found me. Holding my hands tightly over my ears, I tried to block out the hiss of the voice.

As he whispered to me, Cole began to stroke my hair. “It’s okay, Mar. I am here. You are not alone.”

Letting his touch calm the screams inside me, I lowered my defenses and carefully released my hands from my ears. The voice was no longer whispering to me. Throwing myself into Cole’s tall, muscular body, I wrapped my arms tightly around his neck.

“Don’t let me…don’t let me become that person,” I said through my tears. “I am not that person. Don’t let me become that person. Don’t let them turn you into a person like them. We can’t—”

 

Marnie Cate Biography

Marnie CateMarnie Cate was born and raised in Montana before adventuring to the warmer states of Arizona and California. Her love of Dame Judi Dench and dreams of caticorns and rainbows inspired her to chase her dreams. One great sentence came to mind and the world of elemental magic and the humans they lived amongst filled her mind. With her first book Remember: Protectors of the Elemental Magic, the story has just begun.

 

Website | FacebookTwitterPinterestGoodreadsAmazon

 

 

Leave a Reply

