Friday: The Thirteenth Question with Rainne Atkins

Originally posted on Adventures in Indie Publishing  by mdellert.
(February 5, 2016)

Rainne Atkins, a self-described ‘Army Brat,’ grandmother of six, and book reviewer, recently granted me the privilege of an interview.

MED: Rainne, thanks for joining me. Please tell me, given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?

RA: An easy one for starters. I ‘fell in love’ with David Bowie when I was 13 and have been a fan of his music ever since.

MED: I’ve always loved Bowie’s music myself. Please accept my condolences on the recent passing of David Bowie, that must have been hard for you, as it was on all of us.

Tell me, when did you last cry in front of another person? By yourself?

RA: I’m a very emotional person, so it doesn’t take much to make me cry!

The last time I cried by myself was when I read ‘Cutting through the fog‘ on Paul White’s blog.

MED: Where are you from?

RA: I currently live in a village on the outskirts of Lancaster, UK, but was born in Aldershot and from there lived in several places in England as my Dad was in the Royal Engineers.

MED: Please share a little about yourself: What are your favorite flowers? What is your education and family life like?

RA: I’ve been married to Brian for 25 years, I have 3 children all of whom have flown the nest and I’ve been blessed with 4 grandsons and 2 grand-daughters, ranging in age from 1 month to 12 years.

I don’t work because I suffer from anxiety and depression and also because Brian has a number of health problems and I need to be there for him.

MED: Please tell us, what are the Top 5 books you read in 2015?

RA: This is a hard one!! How on earth do I choose only 5 ?!?!

  • The Exiled – Scott Borgman
  • …Before You Leap – Les Lynam
  • Kissing Demons – Jen Winters
  • Souls of the Never – C.J. Rutherford
  • Storm Portal – Michael R. Stern

There are so many more I could add to this list though!

MED: And please, what are the Top 5 books you want to read in the New Year (2016)?

RA: I have a to-read list that will see me well into the New Year, and I’m always adding to it.

From that list the 5 I am most looking forward to reading are:

  • Travel Glasses – Chess Desalls
  • The Distant Sound of Violence – Jason Greensides
  • Miriam’s Hex – Paul White
  • Scroll – DB Nielson
  • Continuation & Infinity – Scott Borgman

Yes I know I cheated on the last one 🙂

MED: Oh, you’re a crafty one. But I’ll let you get away with cheating just this one time. 😉 How long they have been reviewing or blogging? What inspired you to review your first (or latest) book / write your first blog?

RA: I started blogging in May this year, full of great ideas of what I was going to blog about, though when it came to it I dried up and had only managed a couple of posts when I stumbled on the #IndieRoar Challenge.

I didn’t know what an Indie Author was up until then, and the only reviews I left were a couple of lines for books I’d won on Goodreads.

After ‘talking’ to some of the Indie Authors I realised how important it was for readers to post reviews of their books, so I started leaving them for every book I read. I think the reviews I post now are more detailed and much better than my earlier ones.

MED: What book are you reading now?

RA: This changes from day to day, but at this moment in time I have two books on the go. On my kindle I’m reading a book from my ‘to-review’ list – The Betrayal of Ka by Shea R Oliver.

I’m also reading a paperback copy of Too Dark for Television by Patrick Elliot.

MED: As a book reviewer, do you have any advice for writers?

RA: Gosh, not really! I think writers are awesome, I couldn’t write a book if my life depended on it.

I guess if anything I would say,

“Keep writing, don’t give up… and please check your spelling ;)”

MED: How long have you been a member of Author Promo Co-Op / #IndieBooksBeSeen?

RA: I’ve been a member of IBBS for 6 months and APC for 5 months

MED: What do you like most about being a member of Author Promo Co-Op / #IndieBooksBeSeen?

RA: They are both friendly groups, and everyone has made me feel very welcome, like we are all part of one big family.

I love how everyone helps each other with all aspects of writing, publishing & promoting.

MED: What is your most treasured memory?

RA: My most treasured memory would be delivering my Grandson on the floor of my living room. 🙂 It was wonderful, although somewhat scary and is something I’ll never forget.

MED: How can we follow your book reviews? (links to blog, twitter, facebook, amazon author, and other pages)

RA: Reviews on:

Reviews of books I’ve read each month on:

Other links:

Rainne, thanks so much for taking the time to share a little about your life and your love of books with us. The Indie Author movement is grateful for your reviews and your unflagging support. Best of luck to you, Brian, and your wonderful brood of kids and grandkids!

 

Leave a Reply

