Becky’s Kiss by Nicholas Fisher

“It could not be worse for ninth grader Becky Michigan on her first day at a new school, sitting in beet juice and staining her white jeans in a classroom about to fill up with students. In the nick of time, a gorgeous blonde boy named Danny comes in and offers his over-sized baseball jersey so she can cover up, get to the office, and change. By the time she pulls the shirt over her head, however, he has mysteriously disappeared.

Becky scours the school in search of her dream-athlete and wonders why after contact with him she has magically gained the ability to throw a fastball ninety miles per hour! Instead of finding the answer, however, Becky’s new skill pits her against the school bully and the entire varsity baseball team.

That night, after her exciting showdown in front of the entire school, Danny shows up at her bedroom window. If she will agree to meet him behind Rutledge High at midnight on the ball field at the edge of the woods, he promises to reveal a secret meant to alter the past and change her life forever.”

 Watch the Trailer

Purchase your copy here:

Amazon  Barnes and Noble  Kobo Google Play  Smash Words

 

Nicholas Fisher is a college professor and a sports enthusiast. He writes adult horror under another name, but thought of the idea for Becky’s Kiss while
coaching his son’s baseball team. Since the story involved high school drama he decided to write his first young adult piece. When not writing or teaching, Nicholas Fisher enjoys pizza, reality television, and playing the banjo. He lives in Pennsylvania with his wife and his son goes to Arizona State University.

Connect with the Author Here: 

Website  Facebook   Twitter

 

Interview with Nicholas Fisher

Becky’s kiss is Paranormal Romance .. What draws you to PNR -do you write other genres?

A wonderful question. I like reading PNR, but I write in the horror genre for adults under another name. The idea for Becky’s Kiss came to me as a little league baseball story at first, so the characters were young adults! The paranormal part came naturally I suppose, and I have always preached that no matter the genre or subject matter, love is the most powerful force that moves a plot.

 

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was a musician for many years, and my heavy metal bands were relatively successful. Still, I had to compromise my vision at times, and I wanted to try something where I had control of the ship. So…with writing I either sink or sail, my fault or my party, and I prefer it that way. It has been a wonderful, tough road, mostly parties, but I have had my share of pitfalls and heartaches too.

 

Do you have a special time to write, how is your day structured?

That’s an easy one. I write in the morning, 5 am until around 11:00 am.

 

Can you give us some insight into Becky Michigan?

Becky is the girl I wanted to be friends with in high school: shy, pretty, a bit klutzy, and welcoming instead of critical. She’s a nerd and loves baseball statistics. She’s unsure of herself until tested, and then she becomes a hero.

 

How important are names to you in your books?

What an odd, awesome question! I have never been asked that.
Names are important and not important at the same time. I feel they are more important for the image they create than anything symbolic or deep. I have trouble with names, because I have preconceived images affixed to them for some reason. I know it is unfair, but in my head, George is fat with rubbery lips, Jim is skinny and sneaky, Bob is plain, Ryan is stupid, Lenny is clumsy, and Steven is shifty. I have the same issue with female names, though they somehow have more life, I can’t explain why. I tend to be able to stretch the cliché and have it work with these, like Brittney not just being a stuck up tenth grader with perfect hair, but in her elder version, a portfolio manager for a rocking software company who isn’t afraid to wear stiletto heels to board meetings. Anyway, I try not to stress about names. One reader’s images are different from another’s, and while at times I am rolling along writing a chapter and come to a dead stop when I have to invent a name, I sometimes have to tell myself that John or Sue will have to do for now until the character grows more into a “Brandon” or “Adeline.” Or not. Sometimes “Sue” is just as powerful in the end.

 

So do you choose the names based on liking the way it sounds or the meaning?

Hmm, I like that. Yes, in the end, it is how it sounds. That creates the meaning considering the story around it.

 

What’s the nicest thing anyone has said about your book?

Two things. My good friend, horror writer Tamara Thorne, claimed it is the “Young Adult Field of Dreams.” The other nice thing was from my mentor S.T. Joshi, who said that I write non-horror well. Until then I was thought of as a niche writer, under my other name of course.

 

Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors?

I read as much as I can, but often remain buried in my own writing and the papers I grade. I am a college professor, so my priority is making the writing of others better before my own, let alone getting caught up in pleasure reading! I do like certain authors. Stephen King is my favourite. I am currently reading a literary piece by Claire Fullerton titled Dancing to an Irish Reel, which is quite good.

 

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

My mentor is Lovecraft scholar S.T. Joshi, who reads all my material. He is a writer, but not one of fiction too often, so I would have to defer to Tamara Thorne once again.

 

If you didn’t like writing books, what would you do for a living?

Another great question. I don’t write for a living, but rather, I teach college English. The writing is my secret get-away, so in reverse, I would have to imagine writing solely for a living and consider what the new guilty pleasure would be. If I had a choice then, already a rich famous writer, I would be a script consultant on a movie set or for a cable series.

Thank you for your time Nicholas. Good luck with the tour!

 

To view our blog schedual and follow along with this tour visit our

Official Event Page

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

