Scorned by Andrew Hess

 


author
Andrew Hess is a resident of Long Island New York who likes to spend much of his time traveling between Long Island, New York City and the Dutchess County areas. In 2011, he debuted with his first book Chamber of Souls, a small book of free verse poetry which depicted the struggles of a man who thought he had everything in the world only to feel like he lost everything after a rough break-up. In 2013, Andrew debuted his novel The Phoenix Blade: Project Justice; the first in The Phoenix Blade series.

Andrew is also a blogger at TheWritersRevolution13.blogspot.com where he interviews and promotes other authors in order to assist indie authors get more exposure. Andrew is also a frequent guest on the Anthony Charles Podcast, a show dedicated to creative professionals as they give insight into their works and the lives they lead; guests have included authors, comedians, musicians, stuntmen, actors and producers.

 

This action packed thrill ride will leave you on the edge of your seat.

 


What do you do when your biggest case has come to an end? Stuck with mandatory desk duty, Detective Ali Ryan’s life as she knows it, is over. Six months without any action brought out a hunger to get back in the field. What she got, was much more than she bargained for.

The body of Blake Ambrose, one of the best defense attorneys in Dutchess County, has washed up on the shores of the Hudson River. Is this the case that will get her back on her feet?

Or will it end up being her last?

Purchase your copy here

 

 

Interview with Andrew Hess

When did you start writing for publication, what made you decide to put your work out there to be read by others?

I decided I wanted to be an author back in 2005 but did not publish my first book until 2011. At first I wanted to write because I wanted to be rich and famous. But I learned quickly the love of writing in itself and sharing my thoughts, my experiences and my world with whoever decides to read my books was more rewarding. My first book was called Chamber of Souls, a book of free verse poetry that chronicled a man who had hit rock bottom and was forced to fight a journey to find himself. It was meant to help me through a dark time, but it was relatable to many others.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I never really consider anything I do a quirk. I guess the only thing I’d consider a quirk is my process of coming up with ideas. Typically I get my ideas from my dreams, but they appear in my mind at the most random times as well.

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

No, for the longest time I figured I would be a pro wrestler. It wasn’t until 2001 that I ever considered writing any kind of book and didn’t actually start the process until 2005.

For those of us who are thinking of reading your book, could you tell us what to expect?

Scorned has action, romance, and suspense, and that’s just between the cops. Plus, there’s a killer on the loose. I can’t say a lot without giving too much away. But Scorned gets a lot more intense than its predecessor Campus Killer. But as always, Expect the Unexpected.

What about your previous books, will you tell us a bit about them, please.

The Phoenix Blade Series currently has three books available. It’s a government conspiracy book where the government coerces three ordinary college kids to become hired hitmen.

Campus Killer is the prequel to Scorned where a psycho killer is attacking students at a local college campus, making their deaths look like suicides.

Trapped Inside is a fictional book depicting the life of a man fighting to overcome his agoraphobia

Chamber of Souls is a free verse poetry book that depicts the life of a man who feels like he lost everything in life and now fights to find himself.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

Scorned makes my eighth published book. Scorned and Trapped Inside have been my favorite to date. Trapped Inside was a way to bring attention to the difficulties one faces with social disorders, most notably agoraphobia. I also love scorned because it is the continuation of my detective series and that is something I always wanted to write.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

Occasionally I do. Most of the time I hear that they like the book or never saw the twists coming. Some have given me criticism which I take into account and apply it to my writing.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I like to watch movies, play video games, read, shoot pool, go swimming, and I love to cook.

If you were a superhero, what would your name be? What costume would you wear?

I guess I would have to be the Phoenix. It would be a crimson body suit with red, orange and yellow wings.

 

To view the blog schedule and follow along with the event visit our
Official Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/852524024860766/

 

 

Leave a Reply

