Reading Habits

1

I was taught to read by my parents at an early age from the Peter and Jane books, and apparently could read before I went to school.
I read a lot of ‘ladybird’ books and I remember reading Winnie-the-Pooh, The House at Pooh Corner, When We Were Very Young and Now We Are Six, written by A.A.Milne and illustrated by E. H. Shepard. I still have my much loved Beatrix Potter books. I also remember reading Enid Blyton’s Secret Seven Series followed by The Famous Five series, plus Heidi, Heidi Grows Up and Heidi’s Children by Johanna Spyri. Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass, by Lewis Carroll, are a couple more I remember.

2

I must’ve read a lot of other books, but they’re the ones that stick in my mind. One year, during the ’70, while on holiday I read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, by Lewis Carroll and I loved it, for Christmas that year I received The Chronicles of Narnia Box-Set.

3

In my teens, I discovered my dad’s H.G. Wells (The Time Machine and The War of the Worlds) and John Wyndham books, (The Day of the Triffids, Kraken Wakes, The Midwich Cuckoos) . From there I discovered Stephen King (Carrie, Salem’s Lot, The Shining…) and James Herbert (The Rats, The Fog, The Survivor…), followed by many other’s including Dean Koontz (Midnight, Hideaway, Mr. Murder…), Richard Laymon (The Cellar, The Beast House, Funland…) and Anne Rice (Interview with the Vampire, The Vampire Lestat, The Witching Hour).

4
I’m still an avid reader and read most days, more often than not my kindle is in my hand and I’m engrossed in some story or other. I mainly read books that fall into the following categories:

    apocalyptic
    fantasy
    horror
    mystery
    paranormal
    sci-fi
    thriller

I don’t really read chick-lit, stand-alone love stories or erotica. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a prude, most books I read these days have sex and swearing in them. Romance and/or sex scenes are fine, as long as they are part of a good story!

That’s it for now. In some future posts, I will be writing about some of my favourite books and their authors.

Leave a Reply

