Hearts and Flowers

A more accurate title would be hearts and a pansy, but I didn’t think it sounded as good.null

Felt Pansy

Cut one strip of felt 2 cm x 25 cm – for the front three petals. Fold into thirds at right-angles then stitch around the edge. Pull the thread tightly, to gather the petals, and knot.

purple

Cut a second strip 2.5 cm x 20 cm – for the back two petals. Fold in half at right-angles then stitch around the edge. Pull the thread tightly, to gather the petals, and knot.

blue

Cut a triangle of felt 2.5 cm high and 2.5 cm across the base – for the centre. Stitch around the edge, pull the thread to gather it loosely, and knot.

yellow

Stitch the back petals to the rear of the front petals, then stitch the centre to the front. Wrap a pencil in green ribbon and fasten to the back of the pansy.

pansy

The vase was inspired by Camilla Fabbri’s Balloon Vase. I cut off the mouth of a balloon and stretch it over a small glass storage jar with the lid removed. I also poured some rice into the container to stand the pencil in and to weigh it down.

25658897

Hearts

hearts

I made 3 different hearts, in various sizes, to attach to my balloons, a solid heart, a  heart-shaped frame and a lacy heart-shaped frame.  The lacy heart-shaped frame is the same as I used on my anniversary card. I cut them all on my scan’n’cut.

WordPress won’t let me add .fcm or .svg files, but these are the images I used for my hearts.
heart(2)heart(1)heart(3)

To convert to fcm, for scan’n’cut, click on the picture to open it in a new window, copy the URL and paste it here to convert to SVG. This will save to your computer, then add the SVG file to your scan’n’cut canvas.

To cut by hand, with craft knife or scissors,  click on the picture to open it in a new window, then save to your computer.

If  you prefer you can contact me for the fcm or SVG file. Please state which file(s) and format you would like. Thank you.

One thought on “Hearts and Flowers

Leave a Reply

