25 Years

“Love seems the swiftest, but it is the slowest of all growths. No man or woman really knows what perfect love is until they have been married a quarter of a century.”
– Mark Twain

Yesterday was my silver wedding anniversary… 25 years of marriage to a wonderful man.

The past 25 years have been a journey, we’ve had a few bumps along the way and we’ve had our ups and downs. We’ve argued and made up more times than I can remember. We’ve had peaceful times, and days, sometimes weeks, filled with drama. We’ve made it through the hard times and appreciated the good times.

“Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies.”
– Aristotle

I found my soul mate and my best friend when we met in October 1989. We were married in June 1990, at Lancaster Registry Office in a  quiet ceremony. There were only seven people in the room.  As well as the Registrar and his assistant, myself and Brian, there were our two witnesses,  and my youngest daughter, Zoe, who was just one-year-old. We don’t have any photos from the day, just our memories. We didn’t have much money… we didn’t have much of anything really, but we had each other, the sun was shining and we had a good day!

“Together is my favorite place to be.”
-unknown

We’ve celebrated our anniversary each year, the same way as we got married – quietly and together. A card, a gift, and maybe a drink or two in the evening at home, watching tv or a film.

Our celebration yesterday wasn’t much different, but we did have a small get together with Zoe and her children. Just a few sandwiches and nibbles, some biscuits, buns and a cake.

 “Family is what happens when two people fall in love.”
-unknown

For me, the celebrations started last month when I started looking for a new wedding ring. My original ring hasn’t fit for a number of years and had to be split so I could continue to wear it. I have a silver ring, as I don’t like gold, and a silver anniversary seemed an appropriate time to replace it.

EJ310-246x248

I booked in for a tattoo,  which I wanted to keep secret until the day.  I’d had an idea involving a bee (B for Brian) and one of his favourite flowers which would be either a dahlia or a pansy, wasn’t sure which.

I wanted to decorate the room with balloons, and silver and red hearts, and I needed to make an anniversary card.

“One love, one heart, one destiny.”
-Bob Marley

We found some nice rings and chose one. Having decided on a pansy for the tattoo, I drew my idea and sent it to the tattooist. I designed and made the card, incorporating the same flower, and, because I felt like it, I made a felt pansy as well. The silver and red hearts were easy and quick to do with the scan’n’cut.

On Wednesday, I had my tattoo….

tatt2

On Thursday, I baked a cake and on Friday I iced it. Early yesterday morning I inflated the balloons with helium, tied them to ribbons and attached some of the hearts to the ribbons. The rest of the hearts went on the window. I wrapped his gift and signed the card, ready for when Brian woke up.

bs

We had a quiet morning. Brian was surprised by the decorations. He put the new ring on my finger. He loved the card and the tattoo.

The afternoon was livelier with Zoe and my grandchildren. We talked, we ate, we had a drink of cham…. ermm… sparkling wine, we had a great time.c

It was just the two of us again in the evening curled up on the couch and watching a film. I couldn’t have wished for a more perfect day!

I can’t imagine a future without Brian… here’s hoping for another 25 years!

“If there ever comes a day when we can’t be together, keep me in your heart and I’ll stay there forever.”
– Winnie The Pooh

Leave a Reply

